Halal 101 #1: The definition of Halal and the products

Halal can be translated as “permitted, allowed, authorized, approved, sanctioned, lawful, legal, legitimate or licit”.

In the Holy Qur’an, Allah commands Muslims and all mankind to eat Halal food or drink. Halal food or drink must conform to the Islamic dietary laws as specified in the Koran.

For a product to be Halal it must be as a whole and in part:

  1. Free from any substance or ingredient taken or extracted from a Haram animal or ingredient;
  2. Made, processed, produced, manufactured and/or stored by using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that has been cleansed according to Islamic law; and
  3. Free from contact with, or being close to a Haram substance during preparation, making, production, manufacture, processing and/or storage.

The following products are Halal:

  • Halal animals slaughtered according to Islamic Rites
  • Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats)
  • Honey
  • Fish
  • Plants, which are not intoxicant
  • Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables
  • Fresh or dried fruits
  • Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, and walnuts
  • Grains, such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, and oats.

—–

Text credit:
Halal and Haram Fact Sheet, compiled by Tasmania Dept. Health and Human Services

References:

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s